Cluster

Smart alternatives for networkers
Utilising synergies

Smart alternatives for networkers: In the Ulm Innovation Region there are three clusters: the BioRegion Ulm with the BioPharMaXX initiative, the Commercial Vehicles Cluster, Swabia and the Logistics Cluster Swabia (LCS).

The word "Cluster" can be defined as general groupings of different companies from one branch within the region. Here the entire added value chain is covered.

BioRegion Ulm

The BioRegion Ulm is the European and international leader in the field of biotechnologically-manufactured pharmaceuticals. 60 percent of the top thirty German pharmaceutical companies are based here. From the field of life sciences, over 100 companies are based in the BioRegion Ulm.
In the year 2009, the cluster initiative BioPharMaXX was initiated by the Verein BioRegionUlm e.V. BioPharMaXX is intended to network companies and research facilities for biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, medical technology and health care science more intensively. The cluster initiative focuses particularly on the support of small and medium-sized businesses (KMU).
The BioPharMaXX cluster has strong partnerships with the University of Ulm, the Ulm and Biberach Universities of Applied Sciences
, clinics and companies. The Biberach University of Applied Sciences and the University of Ulm also offer a unique training profile in pharmaceutical biotechnology.
Company founders in the field of life sciences can find ideal starting conditions in the "Biotechnologiezentrum" Ulm (Biotechnology Center, Ulm) at the Technologie- und Gründerzentrums Ulm (tfu) (Technology and Foundation Center, Ulm).

BIOREGION ULM

CLUSTER INITIATIVE BIOPHARMAXX

BIOTECHNOLOGY CENTER, ULM

 

CLUSTER NUTZFAHRZEUGE SCHWABEN – COMMERCIAL VEHICLES CLUSTER

The Ulm Innovation Region is Germany's top commercial vehicle location. Here you can find the highest national concentration of commercial vehicle manufacturers. This led in the year 2007 to the foundation of the "Cluster Nutzfahrzeuge Schwaben" (Commercial Vehicles Cluster, Swabia). 44 member companies cover the entire value added chain in commercial vehicle construction. The aims of the cluster have been defined as the networking of the member companies and the exchange with scientific and research facilities. Through collaborative processing of future-orientated projects, permanent competitive advantages are to be achieved for the participants, but also for the region as a whole. This is intensified in five working groups:

  • Drive technology
  • Electronics / IT in commercial vehicles
  • Adhesive technology
  • Production technology
  • Light-weight construction


Securing the influx of new young engineers and awakening an interest in technology in young people are the other central aims.
More information under Cluster Nutzfahrzeuge Schwaben

LOGISTICS CLUSTER, SWABIA (LCS)

The region of Swabia is one of the "Top logistics regions" in Germany.  An above-average number of people are already working in logistics here; at the same time employment is growing at a disproportionate rate. Logistics is a highly positive advantage for this location: this most economically strong region of Germany outside the metropolises provides optimum prerequisites for the production industry.

The Logistik-Cluster Schwaben (LCS) e.V. (Logistics Cluster Swabia), founded in May 2011, provides impetus for the logistics sector. Following the guiding idea of "Supply Chain Region", 33 companies supported by the Chambers of Commerce for Swabia and Ulm have taken the initiative. Today, the cluster has 93 members. The work of the cluster can be described with two words: marketing and network for the region as a strong production and logistics hub. The cluster informs the general public, policy-makers and public administration about the importance of logistics, for example, as an engine of the economy or as an attractive employer. Furthermore, the Logistics Cluster Swabia is a platform for all actors involved into the supply chain management sector, which enables them to communicate and learn from each other. The cluster´s activities focus on the skilled personnel marketing, cooperation between universities and industry as well as on the formulation of sector-specific statements.

LOGISTICS CLUSTER SWABIA

Clevere Alternativen für Netzwerker
Synergien nutzen

Clevere Alternativen für Netzwerker: In der Innovationsregion Ulm gibt es drei Cluster: Die BioRegion Ulm mit der Initiative BioPharMaXX, der Cluster Nutzfahrzeuge Schwaben sowie der Logistik-Cluster Schwaben.

Unter "Cluster" sind ganz allgemein verstärkte Ansammlungen unterschiedlicher Unternehmen einer Branche in einer Region zu verstehen. Dabei wird die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette abgedeckt.

BioRegion Ulm

Auf dem Gebiet biotechnologisch hergestellter Arzneimittel ist die BioRegionUlm europa- und weltweit führend. 60 Prozent der in Deutschland führenden dreißig Pharmaunternehmen sind hier ansässig. Aus dem Bereich der Lebenswissenschaften lassen sich über 100 Unternehmen der BioRegionUlm zuordnen.
Im Jahr 2009 wurde die Clusterinitiative BioPharMaXX vom Verein BioRegionUlm e.V. initiiert. BioPharMaXX dient der intensiveren Vernetzung von Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen aus der Biotechnologie, Pharmazie, Medizintechnik und der Gesundheitswirtschaft. Insbesondere die Stärkung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU) steht dabei im Fokus der Clusterinitiative.
Mit der Universität Ulm, den Hochschulen Ulm und Biberach, Kliniken und Unternehmen verfügt der BioPharMaXX-Cluster über starke Partner. Die Hochschule Biberach und die Universität Ulm bieten zudem ein einzigartiges Ausbildungsprofil in der Pharmazeutischen Biotechnologie.
Unternehmensgründer im Bereich „Lebenswissenschaften“ finden im Biotechnologiezentrum Ulm des Technologie- und Gründerzentrums Ulm (tfu) ideale Startbedingungen.

BioRegion Ulm

Clusterinitiative BioPharMaXX

Biotechnologiezentrum Ulm

Cluster Nutzfahrzeuge Schwaben

Die Innovationsregion Ulm ist Deutschlands Nutzfahrzeugstandort Nummer eins. Hier findet sich bundesweit die höchste Konzentration an Nutzfahrzeugherstellern. Dies führte im Jahr 2007 zur Gründung der Initative „Cluster Nutzfahrzeuge Schwaben“. 38 Mitgliedsunternehmen decken die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette im Nutzfahrzeugbau ab. Als Ziele sind die Vernetzung der Mitgliedsfirmen und der Austausch mit Wissenschaft und Forschungseinrichtungen definiert. Durch die gemeinsame Bearbeitung zukunftsorientierter Projekte sollen dauerhafte Wettbewerbsvorteile für die Beteiligten, aber auch für die Region insgesamt erzielt werden. Intensiviert wird dies in fünf Arbeitskreisen:

  • Antriebstechnik
  • Elektronik / IT im Nutzfahrzeug
  • Klebetechnik
  • Produktionstechnik
  • Leichtbau


Den Ingenieurnachwuchs zu sichern und die Technikbegeisterung bei jungen Leuten zu wecken, sind weitere zentrale Ziele.

Cluster Nutzfahrzeuge Schwaben

Logistik-Cluster Schwaben (LCS)

Die Region Schwaben ist eine der "Top-Logistik-Regionen" in Deutschland. Zu diesem Ergebnis kam eine Studie der Fraunhofer Supply Chain Services (SCS) vom Mai 2009, die die Region Schwaben unter den 18 Top-Regionen in Deutschland eingestuft hat. Überdurchschnittlich viele Menschen sind hier bereits in der Logistik tätig; zugleich wächst die Beschäftigung überproportional. Die Logistik ist ein großer Pluspunkt dieses Standortes: Die wirtschaftsstärkste Region Deutschlands außerhalb der Metropolen bietet die besten Voraussetzungen, die die produzierende Industrie braucht. Diese Stärke gilt es zu stärken – im Verbund von Logistikunternehmen, logistikaffiner Industrie, Wissenschaft und kommunaler Wirtschaftsförderung. Ihre Interessen sollten gebündelt werden, um gemeinsame Herausforderungen – von der Infrastruktur bis zur Fachkräftesicherung – anzupacken. Diese Gründe haben 33 engagierte Unternehmer mit Unterstützung der IHKn Schwaben und Ulm dazu bewegt, im Mai 2011 das "LOGISTIK-CLUSTER SCHWABEN" zu gründen. Ziel des Clusters ist es, gemeinsam mit Hochschulen, Kommunen,Wirtschaftsförderern und weiteren Partnern dem Logistikstandort Schwaben – zusätzlich zu seinem erwiesenermaßen hohen Potential – ein klares Profil zu geben und es der Politik und Öffentlichkeit regional, überregional und international deutlicher wahrnehmbar zu machen.

 

Logistik-Cluster Schwaben

 

  • Bioregion Ulm
  • Cluster Nutzfahrzeuge Schwaben
  • Logistik-Cluster Schwaben (LCS)
Copyright 2014, Innovationsregion Ulm - Spitze im Süden e.V.